Bucks Stun Mudbugs 4-3 in Game 5, take home President’s Cup

BOSSIER CITY, Louisiana – With a 4-3 come-from-behind win on Saturday night, May 6, 2006 the Laredo Bucks defeated the Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs in the 2006 President's Cup Finals to win the Central Hockey League championship

The Bucks got a goal with 2:05 left in regulation from forward Igor Agarunov to cap a stunning come-from-behind victory in Game 5 capturing the President’s Cup.

Agarunov scored a pair of goals to help the Bucks rally from a 3-0 deficit after one period of play to capture the second President’s Cup title in franchise history. Bucks forward Jeff Bes was named the CHL Playoff MVP.

The Mudbugs out hit and out hustled the Bucks in the first period. Bossier forward Chad Spurr out battled the Bucks defense for the puck in the Laredo end and then fed it rink wide to forward Chris Brassard who fired home a wrist shot from the right circle at 14:28.  A little over two minutes later forward Shane Palahicky came away with the puck in the Laredo zone and found defenseman Dale Lupul cutting down the slot for a one-timer at 16:37 to make it 2-0. Late in the period Brassard capitalize on a shorthanded rush at 19:19 to give Bossier a 3-0 lead. The Bucks were out shot 13-3 in the frame.

The Bucks came out storming in the second period. Forward Igor Agarunov scored his first of the playoffs at 2:14 to get Laredo on the scoreboard. Then on a power play chance forward Jeff Bes swept the puck into the net on a rebound at 5:22 . It was the 11th of the post-season for Bes and got the Bucks within 3-2.

Early in the third period rookie forward Todd Griffith turned the corner down the right wing and cut in to tie the game with a wrist shot just 47 seconds into the frame. It was his second of the playoffs. Late in the game Mudbugs defenseman Dale Lupul made a bad clearing pass in his own end and threw the puck right to Agarunov, who gloved it down and then snapped home a wrist shot in one motion at 17:55 for the game winning goal. The Bucks counted down the last final seconds and celebrated their second title in franchise history.

Dov Grumet-Morris stopped 40 of 43 shots and got the win to finish the playoffs at 8-2. Ken Carroll allowed four goals on 24 shots and fell to 1-3. The Bucks were 1-4 on the power play while Bossier was 0-4. Bossier out shot the Bucks 43-24.






Copyright © 2006 All Rights Reserved